Hop Off

It’s the New Year and lately I’ve been thinking a lot of life transitions. Each year I take a step further into adulthood. Each year I get closer to finishing school. Each year life becomes a little more hectic.

The New Year is a time when everyone, myself included, comes up with grand plans to reinvent themselves and change their lives. Maybe New Year’s resolutions are cliche and never work, but I make them anyway. Not only are fun to cook up but also make me feel more upbeat about life (although this can later lead to feeling disappointed if nothing comes of them).¬†Nevertheless, I am devoted to being a more outgoing and positive person this year.

In order to begin this transformation I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. What are things that trap me into negative thinking? Are these things that I’m voluntarily succumbing to? How can I change this?

As it pertains to this blog, one of the biggest negativity traps for me has in fact been my research. Now don’t get me wrong. I love learning and I highly recommend it to everyone. I stand by every word I’ve said thus far.

I’ve done a lot of reading, writing, thinking, and observing this last year about Wicca, Witchcraft, and Paganism. I’ve learned so much, not only about history but about myself and my own practice. I’ve also learned a lot about people, how they interact with each other, and their eternal quest for authenticity. Despite this, I’ve begun to realize that I’m spending way to much time in my head. I’ve lost the balance of head and heart, research and practice.

Furthermore, I’ve become too caught up in what other people are doing and saying.

I think this is actually a major concern with many people in the Wiccan/Witchcraft/Pagan/Whatever community. It is nice to look and see how other people are practicing. However, I find that a lot of the time, instead of using this as a point of inspiration, people are judging each other. The question is raised of who has the real secrets, who is doing it correctly, and who is the real Witch?

Again, please don’t get me wrong. I think there are plenty of people out there doing some pretty shitty and rather stupid things with their practice. But, first of all, it really isn’t my place to tell anyone what to practice or believe in. Second, why should I even care? I’m here in my own little world with my own practice and my own beliefs. What they do doesn’t affect me, it doesn’t change my relationship with my Gods, and it doesn’t have any hold on my Witchcraft. More so, who am I to judge if I’m not even actively practicing my Craft? The only thing that comes of this is an ignored spirituality and a pissy Kelden.

There comes a time when you begin to realize that everyone (including yourself) is full of bullshit. Witchcraft is a huge, ever changing sphere. It encompasses so many different traditions and beliefs that there is really is no one way of doing things. Everyone has their own way of Witchcraft. Whether it’s Misty the Gardnerian High Priestess, Lotus Starshine the eclectic solitary, or Derek the Trad Witch. Everyone, myself included, needs to just hop off everyone else and just get back to doing our own things.

So this is where I’m at. The point of realizing that I’ve been talking the talk and now it’s time to shut the fuck up and walk the walk. That’s what I intend to do these next few months. I’m going to pull my head out of the stacks for a while and focus on strengthening my practice and my relationship with the Gods and spirits.

Leave a Reply

